## LEADERS IN WATER



1620 I Street, NW, Suite 500 Washington, DC 20006 **P** 202.331.2820 **F** 202.785.1845 amwa.net

September 22, 2017

Michael Shapiro USEPA Headquarters William Jefferson Clinton Building 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N. W. Washington, DC 20460

Re: Docket ID No. EPA-HQ-OW-2016-0438, Request for Public Comments To Be Sent to EPA on Peer Review Materials To Inform the Safe Drinking Water Act Decision Making on Perchlorate: Request for comment period extension

The Association of Metropolitan Agencies (AMWA) is an organization representing the largest publicly owned drinking water utilities in the United States. Any changes in the development of national primary drinking water regulations would significantly impact our members. EPA has published a request for comment on the draft report: *Proposed Approaches to Inform the Derivation of a Maximum Contaminant Level Goal for Perchlorate in Drinking Water*. As you know, AMWA has been involved with the issue of perchlorate since EPA first began pursuing a regulatory determination. This new model proposed by EPA and described in the report is complex and uses an extensive amount of data from numerous studies that must be reviewed in order to provide useful comments for the proposed expert panel to review.

Due to the complexity of this report, AMWA requests an extension in the comment period of an additional 45 days. AMWA needs this additional time in order to more fully understand the complex and substantial amount of information provided. This extension would allow AMWA to provide the most thoughtful and useful response to this draft report and provide the most comprehensive comments possible.

Thank you for consideration of our request.

Un De Hai

Sincerely,

Diane VanDe Hei Chief Executive Officer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Scott Potter Nashville Metro Water

VICE PRESIDENT Mac Underwood Birmingham Water Works Board

TREASURER Steve Schneider Saint Paul Regional Water Services SECRETARY Angela Licata

New York City DEP

Jerry Brown
General Manager

Contra Costa Water District

Irene Caminer
Chicago Department of Water
Management

Rudolph Chow Baltimore Department of Public Works

John Entsminger Las Vegas Valley Water District

Julia J. Hunt Trinity River Authority of Texas

Robert Hunter Municipal Water District of Orange County Carrie Lewis Milwaukee Water Works

James S. Lochhead Denver Water Department

Ron Lovan Northern Kentucky Water District

Sue McCormick Great Lakes Water Authority Brett Jokela Anchorage Water & Wastewater Utility

Charles M. Murray Fairfax Water

Commission

William Stowe Des Moines Water Works

John P. Sullivan, Jr. Boston Water and Sewer Jeffrey Szabo Suffolk County Water Authority

Douglas Yoder Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Diane VanDe Hei