2019 Water Policy Conference

April 710, 2019
Washington, DC

Critical Water Topics Are in the Policy Conference Spotlight

Key EPA officials join AMWA conference agenda

Three top U.S. Environmental Protection Agency officials have committed to speak at AMWA’s 2019 Water Policy Conference in Washington, D.C.  Just added to the program are Jennifer McLain, acting director of EPA’s Office of Ground Water and Drinking Water, Anita Thompkins, director of the Drinking Water Protection Division, and Andrew Sawyers, director of the Office of Wastewater Management.

Jennifer McLain will speak on the priorities of the Office of Groundwater and Drinking Water, including an update of the status of the Lead and Copper Rule and the agency’s direction on important aspects of the rule such as lead service line replacement, possible changes to the existing action level, requirements to create an inventory of lead service lines and major changes in sampling.  In addition, she is expected to discuss EPA’s work on per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS), perchlorate, health advisories and nutrient removal, as well as integrated water resource management and affordability issues.

Anita Thompkins will share her perspectives on how new risk and resilience assessment requirements in the America’s Water Infrastructure Act (AWIA) might impact the Drinking Water Protection Division’s current priorities and mission. Enacted last October, AWIA imposes the first new security assessment requirements for water utilities since the Bioterrorism Act of 2002, requiring them to complete risk and resilience assessments at least every five years and update their emergency response plans to reflect the risks identified in the assessments.

Andrew Sawyers will discuss a number of key issues he oversees at the Office of Wastewater Management, particularly EPA’s work on an affordability framework and progress with the Water Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act (WIFIA) program. In addition, he is expected to provide insights on how EPA can leverage synergies between the Clean Water Act and Safe Drinking Water Act to better protect public health and the environment.

Leading off the conference program will be noted political analyst Amy Walter, national editor of the non-partisan Cook Political Report, who will expertly break down the congressional culture and the Washington political scene. Walter makes weekly appearances on the PBS NewsHour, is a regular Sunday panelist on NBC’s Meet the Press and CBS’s Face the Nation and can be seen frequently on Special Report with Bret Baier on FOX.

A number of lawmakers from the U.S. House and Senate with water concerns and portfolios have expressed interest in participating in the conference to share their views on the national legislative agenda for infrastructure, sustainability, regulatory oversight, and other issues of importance to drinking water utilities.

The Water Policy Conference will be held at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, within short walking distance of the U.S. Capitol.

Register now for AMWA’s 2019 Water Policy Conference!