LEADERS IN WATER



P 202.331.2820 F 202.785.1845 amwa.net

September 22, 2021

ASSOCIATION OF

METROPOLITAN WATER AGENCIES

RS LEADERS IN WATER

RE: Oppose Slotkin Amendment #15 to the National Defense Authorization Act

Dear Representative:

The Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies (AMWA) urges you to oppose Amendment #15 to H.R. 4350, the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2022, filed by Rep. Elissa Slotkin. Unfortunately, the amendment would undermine the Environmental Protection Agency's transparent and science-based process for developing drinking water regulations, including for contaminants in the PFAS family.

Among several other provisions, Amendment #15 would amend the Safe Drinking Water Act by requiring EPA to promulgate a national primary drinking water regulation for PFOA and PFOS within two years. The amendment would also establish a unique and expedited drinking water contaminant regulatory process for other chemicals in the PFAS family, and eliminate EPA's discretion on when and whether to issue drinking water health advisories related to PFAS. While we support EPA's ongoing effort to address PFAS in drinking water, the amendment would dramatically and permanently alter how EPA must approach future PFAS regulations. These changes could place undue cost burdens on our communities and ratepayers while leading to premature regulatory decisions that lack public review and scientific validity.

Again, AMWA urges you to maintain EPA's transparent and science-based process for developing drinking water regulations, and to oppose the permanent changes to this process that would be made by Slotkin Amendment #15.

Sincerely,

Un De Hen:

Diane VanDe Hei Chief Executive Officer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Angela Licata New York City Department of Environmental Protection

Mike Armstrong WaterOne

Randy E. Hayman Philadelphia Water Department

Joe Mantua Beaufort Jasper Water & Sewer Authority VICE PRESIDENT John Entsminger Las Vegas Valley Water District

Cathy Bailey Greater Cincinnati Water Works

Robert Hunter Municipal Water District of Orange County

Holly Rosenthal Phoenix Water Services Department TREASURER Yvonne Forrest Houston Water

Tad Bohannon Central Arkansas Water

Ghassan Korban Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans

John P. Sullivan, Jr. Boston Water and Sewer Commission SECRETARY Jeffrey Szabo Suffolk County Water Authority

Scott Dewhirst

Tacoma Water

Denver Water

Paul Vojeck

James S. Lochhead

Erie Water Works

Shane Chapman Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Carrie Lewis Portland Water District

Timothy Thomure Tucson Water **CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Diane VanDe Hei

Calvin Farr Prince William County Service Authority

Ron Lovan Northern Kentucky Water District