

LEADERS IN WATER

1620 I Street NW, Suite 500 Washington, DC 20006 **P** 202.505.1565 amwa.net

May 9, 2023

The Honorable John Garamendi 2004 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Congressman Garamendi:

On behalf of the Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies (AMWA), we are happy to express our support for H.R. 1181, your legislation to extend the maximum term for National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits issued to states and municipalities to up to ten years.

AMWA believes this legislation will make it easier for large drinking water systems to advance water reuse and recycling projects. Due to delays related to supply chain challenges, project construction schedules for these projects may take longer than anticipated. Therefore, by extending the maximum NPDES permit term for these projects from five to ten years, drinking water systems will have a better opportunity to complete needed infrastructure upgrades before having to renew these permits. Additionally, easing the completion of these projects will help address climate change and drought challenges that many of our member utilities are facing as a result.

Again, AMWA is proud to support H.R.1181 and we stand behind this necessary legislation to help drinking water systems complete critical projects in a time and cost-efficient manner. We thank you for your leadership on this important issue.

Sincerely,

Tom Dallin

Thomas Dobbins Chief Executive Officer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT John Entsminger Las Vegas Valley Water Dist.

Mike Armstrong WaterOne

Calvin Farr Prince William County Service Authority

Lindsey Rechtin Northern Kentucky Water District VICE PRESIDENT Yvonne Forrest Houston Water

Tad Bohannon Central Arkansas Water

Randy E. Hayman Philadelphia Water Department

Holly Rosenthal Phoenix Water Services Department **TREASURER** Jeffrey Szabo Suffolk County Water Authority

Edward Campbell Portland Water Bureau

Ghassan Korban Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans

John P. Sullivan, Jr. Boston Water and Sewer Commission SECRETARY James S. Lochhead Denver Water

Shane Chapman Metropolitan Water District of Southern California Andrea Cheng

Management

Angela Licata

Timothy Thomure

Tucson Water

Chicago Department of Water

New York City Department of

Environmental Protection

Newport News Waterworks Todd Swingle Toho Water

Yann Le Gouellec

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Tom Dobbins

Scott Dewhirst Tacoma Water

Joe Mantua Beaufort Jasper Water & Sewer Authority

Paul Vojtek Erie Water Works