## LEADERS IN WATER



1620 I Street NW, Suite 500 Washington, DC 20006 P 202.505.1565 amwa.net

February 7, 2024

The Honorable Jared Huffman 2445 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

## Dear Congressman Huffman:

The Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies (AMWA) is happy to express its support for the "Water Rebate Tax Parity Act." This legislation will boost participation in utility-backed residential water efficiency and conservation programs by exempting program rebates from federal taxation.

AMWA believes this legislation will help support AMWA's goals of water conservation and efficiency. Currently, water utility customers who receive more than \$600 worth of rebates in a single year could owe federal taxes on the balance. Yet, energy conservation rebates offered by electric utilities are already tax exempt from federal taxation. Therefore, it is essential that any water efficiency rebates offered to customers by water utilities should also be tax-free. To advance climate smart policies, incentives like tax free conservation rebates are a great way to ensure customers are not penalized through taxes for practicing water conservation and efficiency.

Again, AMWA is proud to support the "Water Rebate and Tax Parity Act" and we stand behind this necessary legislation to support customers of drinking water systems practice water conservation efficiency through federal tax-free rebates. We thank you for your leadership on this important issue.

Sincerely,

Thomas Dobbins

Chief Executive Officer

Thomas Salling

Timothy Thomure

Tucson Water

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Toho Water

PRESIDENT VICE PRESIDENT TREASURER SECRETARY CHIEF EXECUTIVE Lindsey Retchin OFFICER John Entsminger Jeffrey Szabo Calvin Farr Las Vegas Valley Water Dist. Suffolk County Water Authority Prince William County Service Northern Kentucky Water Tom Dobbins Authority District Julie Anderson Mike Armstrong Verna Arnette Cathy Bailey Tad Bohannon Jeff Brown Beaufort-Jasper Water & Sewer Greater Cincinnati Water Works Central Arkansas Water Denver Water Onondaga County Water WaterOne Authority Authority Edward Campbell Chris Browning Shane Chapman Scott Dewhirst Randy E. Hayman Matthew Jalbert Metropolitan Water District of Tacoma Water Oklahoma City Water Utilities Portland Water Bureau Philadelphia Water Trinity River Authority of Texas Southern California Department Ghassan Korban Yann Le Gouellec Angela Licata Holly Rosenthal Brian Steglitz John P. Sullivan, Jr. Sewerage and Water Board of New York City Department of Phoenix Water Services Boston Water and Sewer Newport News Waterworks Ann Arbor Water Environmental Protection New Orleans Department