



June 14, 2017

Chairman Rodney Frelinghuysen Ranking Member Nita Lowey House Committee on Appropriations Washington, D.C. 25015

Dear Chairman Frelinghuysen and Ranking Member Lowey,

As leaders at western water utilities and on behalf of the members of WaterNow Alliance and the Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies, we write to ask for your support for increased funding for the Bureau of Reclamation's WaterSMART Grants Program in the Interior FY 2018 appropriations bill. This modest program provides vitally needed and innovative support for effective water management throughout the West. Specifically, we request that you fund the Bureau of Reclamation's WaterSMART Grants Program at \$30 million and pass a multi-year extension of Section 9504 of the SECURE Water Act (42 U.S.C. 10364) to ensure the water-saving program continues without interruption.

Public water utilities comprise over 80% of U.S. municipal water providers. Our ability to provide clean and reliable drinking water supplies faces growing challenges from drought, stormwater runoff, aging infrastructure, rising costs, and more. The Colorado River provides drinking water to over 35 million people, supplies water to over 5 million acres of irrigated land, and supports an estimated \$1 trillion dollars in total economic activity – including a thriving recreation industry worth over \$26 billion dollars annually. But by 2060, the Bureau of Reclamation anticipates water demands will exceed available supplies by over 3 million acre-feet.

The WaterSMART Grants Program saves an estimated 1 million acre-feet annually, providing enough water for over 4.5 million people. Nonetheless, there is a significant amount of unmet savings potential — only 1 in 5 grant applications receive funds. A \$30 million appropriation will leverage many additional millions in non-federal funds and make significant progress toward closing the water supply gap across the West.

It is vital to continue to fund and support effective federal programs for water management solutions in the West. Effective collaboration between federal, state, and local governments and tribes is required to more efficiently administer water in the region. Therefore, we urge you to increase funding for the WaterSMART Grants Program to the authorized level of \$30 million.

Thank you for your consideration of our request.

Sincerely.

Cynthia Koehler Executive Director WaterNow Alliance Diane VanDe Hei Chief Executive Officer

Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies

in the De He

Frank L. Blanco

Director

Apache Junction Water District, AZ

Kyla Allen

Councilmember

City of Cottonwood, AZ

Eva Putzova Councilmember City of Flagstaff, AZ

Bart Turner Councilmember City of Glendale, AZ

Wally Campbell Vice Mayor

City of Goodyear, AZ

Mark Holmes

Water Resources Manager City of Goodyear, AZ

Dave Richins

Former Councilman City of Mesa, AZ

Kevin Thompson Councilmember City of Mesa, AZ

Vicki Hunt Councilmember City of Peoria, AZ

Kate Gallego Councilmember City of Phoenix, AZ

Thelda Williams Councilmember City of Phoenix, AZ

Lauren Kuby Councilmember City of Tempe, AZ

Gary Knight Councilmember City of Yuma, AZ Stacy Taylor

External Affairs Manager Mesa Water District, AZ

Wayne Debrosky

Public Works/Utilities Director

Town of Clarkdale, AZ

Martin L. Koller Director (ret.)

Alameda County Water District, CA

Robert Dean Board President

Calaveras County Resource Conservation District, CA

Larry Moody Mayor

City of East Palo Alto, CA

Sam Hindi Vice Mayor

City of Foster City, CA

Michael Kasperzak Former Mayor

City of Mountain View, CA

John McAlister Councilmember

City of Mountain View, CA

Patricia Showalter Councilmember

City of Mountain View, CA

Kathleen Ward

Mayor

City of San Clemente, CA

Sylvia Ballin Mayor

City of San Fernando, CA

Kerry Ferguson

Mayor

City of San Juan Capistrano, CA

Jason Dominguez Mayor Pro Tem

City of Santa Barbara, CA





Meghan Sahli-Wells Councilmember

Culver City, CA

Marguerite Young

Director

East Bay Municipal Utility District, CA

Kathy Besser

Executive Manager of External Affairs & Policy Dev.

Inland Empire Utilities Agency, CA

Steven Elie President

Inland Empire Utilities Agency, CA

Harry Saltzgaver

Water Commissioner

Long Beach Water Department, CA

Tom DuBois

Councilmember City of Palo Alto, CA

Steve Jordan Director

Purissima Hills Water District, CA

Tim Smith

Board Director

San Diego County Water Authority, CA

Gary Kremen Director

Santa Clara Valley Water District, CA

Ron Duncan

General Manager

Soquel Creek Water District, CA

Dennis A. Erdman

Director

South Coast Water District, CA

Bill Green Director

South Coast Water District, CA

Marshall P. Brown

Aurora Water Director

City of Aurora, CO

Bob Roth

Councilmember

City of Aurora, CO

Matt Appelbaum

Councilmember

City of Boulder, CO

Philip F. Johnson

Director of Public Works

City of Cortez, CO

John Ballew

Utilities Commissioner

City of Durango, CO

Gerry Horak

Mayor Pro Tem

City of Fort Collins, CO

John Harris

Public Works Director

City of Montrose, CO

R. Eric Kuhn

General Manager

Colorado River Water Conservation District, CO

Dave Edwards

Mayor Pro Tem

Town of Palisade, CO

Chris Bryant

City Commissioner

City of Clovis, NM

Olga Pedroza City Councilor

City of Las Cruces, NM

Peter Ives Councilmember City of Santa Fe, NM

Joseph M. Maestas City Councilor City of Santa Fe, NM

Debbie Hughes Executive Director

New Mexico Association of Conservation Districts

William "Geno" Withelder Mayor Pro Tem City of Mesquite, NV

Tim H. Nelson Deputy Mayor Pro Tem City of Frisco, TX

Steve Kana Director of Water & Sewer Utilities City of Killeen, TX Jeannie Simmonds Chair

Cache Water District, UT

Maile Wilson

Mayor

Cedar City, UT

Sharla Beverly Councilmember

City of South Salt Lake, UT

Erin Mendenhall Councilmember Salt Lake City, UT

Thomas Ward

Director of Sandy Public Utilities

Sandy City, UT

Cynthia R. Pratt Deputy Mayor City of Lacey, WA

De'Sean Quinn Councilmember City of Tukwila, WA

CC: Chairman Simpson, Energy and Water Subcommittee Ranking Member Kaptur, Energy and Water Subcommittee