Skip to main content

Honoring Utility Achievements and Individual Contributions

Our progressive series of awards honor extraordinary management and stellar workforce performance. 

2022 Awards Program

AMWA opened its annual awards program in February 2022 and invited all eligible AMWA member utilities to apply for one of three utility management awards. The 2022 award submission period closed on June 24, 2022. 

Distinguished panels of peer judges evaluated award applicants in the summer of 2022, and AMWA presented the awards at its 2022 Executive Management Conference, October 30 - November 2, in Savannah, Georgia.   Information on 2022 and past winners can be found below. Congratulations to this year's award winners!

AMWA also honored individual accomplishments in the drinking water field through its President’s Award and Donald R. Boyd Award. The association’s Nominations Committee determined the recipients of these awards, and AMWA presented the awards at the fall Executive Management Conference. 

For more information about the awards program or eligibility, please contact 
Antoinette Barber.

Utility Awards

Gold Award for Exceptional Utility Performance

The AMWA Gold Awards for Exceptional Utility Performance recognize the large public drinking water systems that exhibit high levels of performance in all areas.

Learn more

Platinum Award for Utility Excellence

Like the Gold Award for Exceptional Utility Performance, the criteria for the Platinum Award for Utility Excellence are also based on the Ten Attributes of Effective Utility Management and the Keys to Management Success.

Learn more

Sustainable Water Utility Management Award 

AMWA’s Sustainable Water Utility Management Award, introduced in 2014, recognizes member utilities that have made a commitment to sustainable management.

Learn more

Individual Awards

Donald R. Boyd Award

The Donald R. Boyd Award acknowledges extraordinary personal service in the drinking water field. General criteria may include valuable service advancing public understanding and awareness, water quality research or more general contributions deserving of recognition.

View Donald R. Boyd Winners

President’s Award

The AMWA President’s Award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the improvement of water supply management.

View President’s Award Winners